top of page
  • Rob

ON THIS DAY, 1981...

Raiders of the Lost Ark debuted in cinemas on June 12, 1981. The adventure film was directed by Steven Spielberg and produced by George Lucas. It is the first film in the Indiana Jones franchise and stars Harrison Ford as the iconic archaeologist Dr. Henry "Indiana" Jones, Jr. The screenplay was written by Lawrence Kasdan, based on a story by Lucas and Philip Kaufman.

Plot Summary

Set in 1936, the film follows Indiana Jones on his quest to find the biblical Ark of the Covenant, which is said to hold immense power. The U.S. government recruits Jones to find the Ark before the Nazis, who plan to use its power for world domination. The journey takes Jones from the jungles of South America to the deserts of Egypt, facing various dangers, booby traps, and rivals along the way.

Key Characters

  • Indiana Jones (Harrison Ford): The adventurous and charismatic archaeologist.

  • Marion Ravenwood (Karen Allen) is Indiana's former lover and partner embroiled in the adventure.

  • Dr. René Belloq (Paul Freeman): Indiana's French rival archaeologist, working with the Nazis.

  • Major Arnold Toht (Ronald Lacey): A sinister Gestapo agent.

  • Sallah (John Rhys-Davies): A friendly Egyptian excavator who helps Indiana.

Notable Elements

  • Action Sequences: The film is renowned for its thrilling and imaginative action scenes, including the opening sequence where Jones escapes a booby-trapped temple and the iconic truck chase.

  • Cultural Impact: 'Raiders of the Lost Ark' revitalized the adventure genre and established Indiana Jones as a cultural icon. Since its release, it has influenced countless films and media.

  • Awards and Accolades: The film was a critical and commercial success, earning over $390 million worldwide. It won five Academy Awards, including Best Art Direction and Best Visual Effects.


'Raiders of the Lost Ark' is a beloved classic and is often cited as one of the greatest films ever made. Its success led to a franchise that includes three direct sequels ('Indiana Jones and the Temple of Doom', 'Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade', 'Indiana Jones and the Kingdom of the Crystal Skull') and a fifth film released in 2023, 'Indiana Jones and the Dial of Destiny'.

The character of Indiana Jones has become synonymous with adventure and has left a lasting legacy in popular culture.


bottom of page